2027-28 FAFSA Guide for Connecticut and North Carolina Families

Key dates, what counts as an asset, how 529s and small businesses are treated, and the main CT and NC state aid programs for the 2027-28 school year.

Key dates for the 2027-28 FAFSA®
  • Covers: college or career school from July 1, 2027 to June 30, 2028.
  • Opened: September 23, 2026, according to the U.S. Department of Education.
  • Connecticut: submit by February 15, 2027 for priority consideration. More forms may be required.
  • North Carolina: by June 1, 2027 for priority consideration at UNC System schools and community colleges. For private colleges, as soon as possible after October 1, 2026, while funds last.
  • Federal deadline: June 30, 2028. College and state deadlines are much earlier.
  • Tax year used: your 2025 federal tax return.
  • The FAFSA is free. File it at StudentAid.gov.

FAFSA® is a registered trademark of the U.S. Department of Education. Enhance Finance LLC isn't affiliated with or endorsed by the Department. The FAFSA is free at StudentAid.gov.

What the FAFSA does

The Free Application for Federal Student Aid is the form for federal grants, work-study and federal student loans. Most states and many colleges also use it for their own aid. It produces your Student Aid Index (SAI), the number schools use to figure need-based aid. The SAI replaced the old Expected Family Contribution (EFC) starting with the 2024-25 FAFSA under the FAFSA Simplification Act.

The student and every required contributor (for example, a dependent student's parents) must give consent for their federal tax information to be transferred from the IRS. Without it, the student's federal aid eligibility can't be calculated.

It uses your 2025 tax return

The 2027-28 FAFSA asks about the 2025 tax year, the "prior-prior" year. Most income comes straight from the IRS once you give consent. That means the 2025 return you filed (or will file) shapes the 2027-28 aid formula. Fixing an error on that return after the fact may mean updating both the return and the FAFSA.

Under the FAFSA Simplification Act, far fewer kinds of untaxed income count. Federal Student Aid lists what remains: deductible payments to SEP, SIMPLE, Keogh and other qualified retirement plans; tax-exempt interest; the untaxed part of IRA distributions and pensions (not rollovers); and the foreign earned income exclusion.

Your FAFSA pulls from your 2025 tax return. Want that return done right?Book a call with Andrew

What counts as an asset

The form asks for the net worth of cash, investments and businesses as of the day you file. Use 0 for anything worth less than its debt. Based on the 2027-28 form instructions:

Reported as an assetNot reported as an asset
Cash, savings and checkingThe home you live in
Investments, including real estate other than your home and rental propertyRetirement plans: 401(k)s, pensions, annuities, non-education IRAs and similar
529 college savings plans and Coverdell accounts owned by the student or parent (see below)Life insurance values and ABLE accounts
UGMA and UTMA accounts (always the student's asset)A family business with 100 or fewer full-time (or equivalent) employees
Net worth of larger businesses and investment farmsA family farm the family lives on, and a family commercial fishing business

How 529 accounts are counted

  • Owned by a parent of a dependent student: reported as a parent asset, including a 529 owned by the student when the student reports parent information. The form says parents shouldn't report education savings accounts for their other children.
  • Owned by an independent student: reported as the student's asset.
  • Owned by a grandparent or anyone else: the form doesn't ask about it. And since the 2024-25 FAFSA, "cash support" and money paid on the student's behalf are no longer counted as the student's untaxed income, according to the Congressional Research Service and Federal Student Aid. That's the change people call the end of the "grandparent 529 problem."

Some colleges ask for more information on their own aid forms, so check with each school's financial aid office. More on 529s: CHET and 529 plans in CT and NC.

Small-business owners: the business may not count at all

Starting with the 2026-27 FAFSA, Federal Student Aid says the net worth of these is not reported as an asset:

  • a family-owned business with 100 or fewer full-time (or full-time equivalent) employees,
  • a farm the family lives on, and
  • a commercial fishing business owned and controlled by the family.

The 2027-28 form repeats this: "Don't include a family business with 100 or fewer full-time employees." Business income still counts, because it flows through your 2025 tax return (Schedule C, K-1s and so on). Rental property is still an investment asset, including a unit in your home with its own entrance, kitchen and bath rented to someone outside the family.

Self-employed or own an S corp? Want your 2025 business figures checked before they feed the FAFSA?Book a call with Andrew

Connecticut state aid

The CT Office of Higher Education runs the Roberta B. Willis Scholarship:

  • Need-Merit: up to $5,250 a year at a four-year program or $4,650 at a two-year program, for Connecticut residents at eligible CT colleges. It requires top 20% class rank or an SAT of 1200+ or ACT of 25+, an application submitted by the high school counselor, and the FAFSA by February 15. Students must have an SAI at or below OHE's cutoff for the year. For FY-26 the cutoff was 10,999. Not yet confirmed the 2027-28 cutoff.
  • Need-based awards also use the FAFSA. Check with your college's financial aid office for its deadline.

North Carolina state aid

The Next NC Scholarship combines the federal Pell Grant with state aid. As published by CFNC for current awards:

  • For NC residents with household AGI of $80,000 or less and an SAI of 7,500 or less.
  • At least $5,000 a year at a UNC System university, or at least $3,000 at an NC community college, from combined federal and state aid.
  • No separate application: filing the FAFSA and listing an eligible NC school is enough.
  • Priority dates: June 1 for UNC System schools and August 15 for community colleges.

Not yet confirmed The 2027-28 amounts and limits haven't been published yet.

Filing steps

  1. Have your 2025 tax return (or the information from it) handy.
  2. Go to StudentAid.gov. The FAFSA is free there. Watch out for sites that charge to file it.
  3. The student starts the form and invites any required contributors, such as parents.
  4. Each contributor gives consent for the IRS data transfer and signs their section.
  5. Enter assets as of the day you file, using the rules above.
  6. List every college to receive the information. For CT and NC state aid, list an eligible in-state school.
  7. Submit before the earliest state or college deadline that applies to you, and review the FAFSA Submission Summary.

Frequently asked questions

When is the 2027-28 FAFSA deadline in Connecticut?

Connecticut's priority date on the 2027-28 FAFSA is February 15, 2027, and more forms may be required. The Roberta B. Willis Need-Merit Scholarship also needs the FAFSA by February 15.

When is the FAFSA deadline in North Carolina?

For priority consideration, June 1, 2027 for UNC System schools and community colleges. For private colleges, as soon as possible after October 1, 2026, while funds last.

Which tax year does the 2027-28 FAFSA use?

The 2025 tax year.

Does a 529 count on the FAFSA?

A 529 owned by a parent (or by a dependent student) is reported as a parent asset. An independent student's 529 is their own asset. The form doesn't ask about 529s owned by grandparents or others.

Does my small business count on the FAFSA?

Starting with 2026-27, the net worth of a family-owned business with 100 or fewer full-time (or equivalent) employees isn't reported as an asset. Business income still counts through your tax return.

Do retirement accounts or my home count?

No. The home you live in and retirement plans such as 401(k)s and IRAs aren't reported as assets.

Does it cost money to file the FAFSA?

No. The FAFSA is free at StudentAid.gov.

Free education only. Not tax, legal, investment or retirement-planning advice, and not a recommendation to open, fund, buy, sell or hold any account, investment or product. Enhance Finance LLC does not sell investments or financial products. Rules change, so confirm with the official source linked on this page (such as the IRS, the Social Security Administration, the CT Department of Revenue Services or the NC Department of Revenue) before you act, and ask a tax professional about your own situation.

Your FAFSA pulls from your 2025 tax return. Need help getting that return right, or understanding your business figures?

Or call (475) 242-7941. Services are priced by quote.

Enhance Finance LLC · Andrew Nocera, Tax Preparer & Small-Business Finance Consultant. Based in Connecticut and working with North Carolina clients remotely.

Not tax, legal or investment advice. Figures are estimates for education. Checked November 2026.